35 years of Arts Excellence

Lichfield Festival Lichfield Festival brings the best national and international artists and performers to the West Midlands each year for a summer celebration of classical music, dance, drama, film, jazz, literature, poetry, visual arts and world music.  Lichfield Festival holds a unique role not only in the city but within Staffordshire and the surrounding area, and has in only a short time become an integral part of the region’s cultural fabric – a focal point for exciting and challenging artistic presentations of an international calibre, and a showcase for Lichfield’s own wealth of heritage, culture and creativity. The programme is wide and varied with an outdoor cinema adding to the range of concerts, gigs and talks plus a large number of free events including the Festival Fringe, Arts Market, Sundown Jazz and visual arts exhibitions. Past performers and artists have included Nigel Kennedy, The Halle, Soweto Gospel Choir, The Brodsky Quartet, Oscar Peterson, Simon Rattle, Georgie Fame, The Dhol Foundation, Maggie Hambling, Bellowhead, Carol Ann Duffy, Christopher LeBrun, Djivan Gasparyan, Jon Lord, Clement Freud, The Hairy Bikers and the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain. Lichfield Festival showcases the best of Lichfield’s historic and contemporary architecture and beautiful outdoor spaces by holding events in Lichfield Cathedral, Lichfield Garrick Theatre and a range of smaller venues including Swinfen Hall Hotel, St Michael’s and St Chad’s Churches, the George Hotel and Lichfield Guildhall, alongside Beacon Park, Market Square and the Cathedral Close. Lichfield Festival receives over 50,000 visitors annually who come from a c.30 mile radius of Lichfield. The Festival is also fortunate to have the support of approximately 120 dedicated volunteers each year, 25% of whom are under the age of 26.
© Lichfield Festival Ltd    Donegal House, Bore Street, Lichfield, Staffordshire, WS13 6NE    Charity No: 512201  Company No: 1592012  

Lichfield Festival Team

Artistic Director - Sonia Stevenson

Festival Director - Jennifer Mears

Sponsorship & Marketing Manager - Michelle


Logistics Manager - Julie Motton

Education Officer - Pam Easto


Ian Dudson the Lord Lieutenant

Board of Directors

Chairman - Helen Wiser Phil Davies Claire Tetley Tracy Coles Peter Bacon Debbie Liggins Sara Beadle Laura Boaler


Julian Lloyd Webber

Valery Gergiev

Michael Fabricant MP

Founder & Millenium Members

Click here for a full list

Literature Festival Supporters