HOME ABOUT EVENTS BOOKING INFO GET INVOLVED SUPPORT US ASPIRE NEWS HIGHLIGHTS CONTACT
© Lichfield Festival Ltd    Donegal House, Bore Street, Lichfield, Staffordshire, WS13 6NE    Charity No: 512201  Company No: 1592012  

Literature Festival FREE Events

Books for Breakfast Lichfield  Library  FREE  10am  What better way to start the Festival weekend than with Books For Breakfast! Join us for an hour curled up with your favourite books, games and craft activities, with storytelling from local author Lorraine Hellier.   Suitable for ages 0-8 years.  All children must be accompanied at all times. BOOKS FOR BREAKFAST FREE FAMILY ILLUSTRATOR IN RESIDENCE - Michelle Turton 1 - 5 March  10am - 4pm  Lichfield Library  FREE Michelle Turton is a Tamworth-based illustrator, specialising in portrait, travel and lifestyle illustration. Her exhibition Heroes is a self-initiated project producing a series of portraits celebrating the life and times of her heroes past and present. For Lichfield Literature Festival, Michelle has added to the series with a number of new pieces inspired by literary heroes. She will be working on site throughout the Festival. Heroes Exhibition COLOUR! Drop in Workshop FREE Love adult colouring books? Want to relax for a few minutes during a busy day? Drop in to the exhibition at the library and help colour-in our giant colouring wall. ARTS WORKSHOPS FAMILY Lichfield  Methodist Church  FREE  7.30pm  Samuel Johnson Society Annual Lecture A Partner Event HISTORY FREE The Samuel Johnson Society Annual Lecture this year is given by actor, writer and playwright Ian Kelly (tbc - subject to change).  A prolific writer and historian, Kelly’s play of murder and corruption in Georgian London Mr Foote’s Other Leg recently played to critical acclaim in the West End. Big Festival Book Bash Celebrating 20 Years of World Book Day FAMILY FREE Lichfield  Library  FREE  4pm  Join us to celebrate 20 years of World Book Day at the Big Festival Book Bash. Taking place after school, why not come along in your World Book Day fancy dress and join us in our costume parade.  Enjoy games and activities around your favourite books from The Gruffalo to Harry Potter, Tracy Beaker to the Big Hungry Caterpillar, plus a visit from an Enchanted Princess.  Lots of fun to be had and prizes to be won.   Further details to be announced soon.   Suitable for the whole family. (Booking Required via  Box Office 01543 300191)
from WEDNESDAY 1ST MARCH
THURSDAY 2ND MARCH
SATURDAY 4TH MARCH
Festival Paper Fair Lichfield  Library  FREE  10am - 3pm  Join us for Lichfield’s first ever Paper Fair - celebrating everything to do with books, reading, writing, crafts and more.  With stalls featuring free activities, information stands from organisations across the region, craft sellers, free author talks and readings and the ever popular Festival Book Swap, there is guaranteed to be something for everyone.   BIG Festival Book Swap  Now in its 3rd year, the Book Swap is back and the concept is simple: donate an unwanted book and take away a new one. A great chance to try a new novel or make room on your bookshelves without costing a penny! Donate your books to the Festival Office at Donegal House ahead of the event or bring them along with you on the day.  Open Mic Featuring writers, poets, stand-up comedians and storytellers of all ages the Open Mic area will be running throughout the day as a space for anyone to share their work.  Includes a crime fiction author afternoon in partnership with Bonnier Zaffre Publishers.    11am - 12.30pm: Writing West Midlands - Writer Networking Event Writers from across the Midlands talk about their experiences of getting their work published in this free panel discussion.  The perfect chance to gain an insight into the industry and pick up some helpful tips from writers who have already gone through the process. (In association with Writing West Midlands)  1pm-3pm: Crime Authors Symposium Four newly published crime fiction authors talk about their latest work, their experience of writing the genre and getting published for the first time. (In association with Bonnier Zaffre Publishers)  Authors to include (subject to change):  Chris Whitaker author of Tall Oaks Published 7 April 2017  Chris was was born in London and spent ten years working as a financial trader in the city.  With a refreshingly cavalier attitude toward his family’s financial security, he decided to quit his job in order to write his first novel Tall Oaks.  A gripping yet hilarious, suspenseful and sad - a brilliant debut for fans of Twin Peaks and The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair.  David Young author of Stasi Child and Stasi Wolf  David Young’s debut novel, Stasi Child was a print and ebook bestseller, selling more than 50,000 copies in all formats. Stasi Wolf, which we publish on the 9th Feb 2017, is a skilfully-woven, labyrinthine and intensely gripping tale, chock-full of intrigue, double-crossing and infidelity.  It is perfect for the audience that devoured Deutschland 83, and also for readers of Tom Rob Smith or Philip Kerr. Stasi Child was long listed for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, short listed the Yeovil Literary Prize and winner of the CWA Historical Dagger award and the PDF Crime Prize. East Germany, 1975. Karin Müller, sidelined from the murder squad in Berlin, jumps at the chance to be sent south to Halle-Neustadt, where a pair of infant twins have gone missing. But Müller soon finds her problems have followed her. Halle-Neustadt is a new town - the pride of the communist state - and she and her team are forbidden by the Stasi from publicising the disappearances, lest they tarnish the town's flawless image…   Sam Blake author of Little Bones Published 23 February 2017   Little Bones is the #1 bestseller in Ireland. Sam Blake is a pseudonym for Vanessa Fox O'Loughlin, the founder of The Inkwell Group publishing consultancy and the hugely popular national writing resources website Writing.ie. She is Ireland's leading literary scout who has assisted many award winning and bestselling authors to publication. Vanessa has been writing fiction since her husband set sail across the Atlantic for eight weeks and she had an idea for a book.   Attending what seems to be a routine break-in, troubled Detective Garda Cathy Connolly makes a grisly discovery: an old wedding dress - and, concealed in its hem, a baby's bones. And then the dress's original owner, Lavinia Grant, is found dead in a Dublin suburb.   Searching for answers, Cathy is drawn deep into a complex web of secrets and lies spun by three generations of women. Meanwhile, a fugitive killer has already left two dead in execution style killings across the Atlantic - and now he's in Dublin with old scores to settle. Will the team track him down before he kills again?   Struggling with her own secrets, Cathy doesn't know dangerous - and personal - this case is about to become...   'Instantly gripping, perfectly paced, and filled with a brilliant cast of characters, led by the utterly likeable and relatable Detective Cathy Connolly . . . from the murky depths of these buried secrets comes an ending that truly shines.' - Alex Barclay  GJ Minett author of Lie in Wait Published 23 February 2017   Vividly imagined and ingeniously plotted, LIE IN WAIT is GJ Minett's stunning follow-up to the bestselling and acclaimed THE HIDDEN LEGACY (which has sold over 20,000 copies in eBook ahead of its print publication). G.J. Minett studied at Cambridge and then spent many years as a teacher of foreign languages. He studied for an MA in Creative Writing at the University of Chichester, and won the 2010 Chapter One Prize for unpublished novels with the opening chapter of The Hidden Legacy.   Owen Hall has always been different. A big man with an unusual fixation, one who prefers to put his trust in number patterns rather than in people, it's unsurprising that he'd draw the attention of a bully.   Or a murder investigation.   And, in the storm of emotions and accusations that erupts when a violent killing affects a small town, it soon becomes clear that a particularly clever murderer might just get away with it.   All they'd need is a likely suspect . . .   FAMILY Crafts, Arts, Books, Writing and More! FREE