Lichfield Festival Box Office:
01543 306 150

Elgar Piano Quintet


Sat 07 Jul 2018 4:00 pm


St Michael’s Greenhill Church
Event Code: 7C
Price: £18

Artist in Residence Series
War and Humanity

The Carducci Quartet
Danny Driver piano

Shostakovich – String Quartet no. 8
Brahms – Vier Klavierstücke Op. 119
Elgar – Piano Quintet Op. 84

The first of our 2018 residency collaborations features Elgar’s Piano Quintet. Largely written in the final months of the First World War, Elgar drew inspiration from the natural beauty of his summer stay in Sussex to create one of his finest chamber works. It is paired here with Shostakovich’s String Quartet no. 8. Written in just 3 days, this 1960 composition is a work of great power and emotion, dedicated ‘to the victims of fascism and war’

Running Time: 100 mins (approx.)

Loading Map....