Lichfield Festival Box Office:
01543 306 150

The Carduccis


Sat 14 Jul 2018 7:00 pm


St Michael’s Greenhill Church
Event Code: 14E
Price: £14

Artist in Residence Series

Haydn – Op. 50, no.2
Piazzolla – Four for Tango
Debussy – Quartet in G Minor Op. 10

The final concert in their residency sees the Carduccis turn their attention to Debussy in this his centenary year. One of his early works (from 1893), the Quartet in G minor was the only string quartet he wrote, and yet is a much-loved work in the repertoire. Full of impressionistic fluidity, it was a clear statement from the composer of a desire to break away from the formality and strictures of music from Germany and Austria. Haydn’s Quartet Op. 50, no. 2 – the second of the Prussian Quartets – shows that convention has its place, however, and is a fine example of the traditional structure that both informed and sparked Debussy’s quest for a new, French sound.

Running Time: 60 mins (approx.)

Loading Map....